Skip to content

Cloth Baby Wipes

March 6, 2009

frugal-friday-2-771381-714372-787747-7478311

 

I am enjoying the frugal tips over at Frugal Fridays, you should check it out too!

One thing that we have started using in our home that is saving us quite a bit of money is cloth baby wipes.  Mine are very simple, I did not buy the brand name cloth wipes, although I’m sure they work wonderfully as well. 

What I purchased was the bundle of inexpensive wash cloths that Walmart carries.  I then cut each of them in half, and attempted to stitch the cut side on each of them, however my sewing machine died after only 2.  Oh well, I still use them, they do unravel, especcially after the first wash, but very little now.

I then make my own wipe solution.  I mix 1/8 cup of olive oil, 2-3 drops Tea Tree Oil, 1 squirt of Lavendar Bath Wash (I use the hypoallerginic kind), and 2 cups of warm water in a medium sized plastic container.  I then put my wipes in, one at a time, until all of the solution is soaked up. I like to squeeze the wipes out, once all of the solution is soaked up, and then soak that up with some of the dry cloths that I have left over, giving me more wipes before needing to do it again.  Put the lid on the container, and wa la, cloth wipes ready to use!  And they smell so good!

When you have 5 little ones, two of which are a toddler and a 3 month old, there is always something needing to be wiped clean.  Instead of tossing the wipe in the trash after cleaning the mess, we now toss it into the laundry pile, it is then washed and ready to be reused!  Therefore, money SAVED!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. March 6, 2009 9:29 pm

    It kind of like using a plain wash cloth and soap, like back in the olden days. LOL

    • Brandi permalink*
      March 6, 2009 10:39 pm

      Yes, I guess it kind of is! :o) However, the tea tree oil in my wipes acts as a diaper rash/yeast preventative! Thanks for visiting!

Leave a Reply

