Skip to content

Family Movie Night

March 10, 2009

 

wfmwbannerkristen

For us this takes place on Tuesday Nights.

It is also pizza night. I make pizza crust out of whole wheat flour and then put whatever toppings we want on it. We have salad and tea as well. On occasion, I have made magic milkshakes, chocolate chip cookies, or root beer floats. If we are not too stuffed full of pizza, then we also have air popped popcorn! Yummy!

This is a time that we all look forward to. I am asked several times during the week if it is “family movie night”. It is a very special time!

We are very careful of what our children watch, and family movie night is no different. If it is not a movie that Josesph and I have viewed and OKed, then it is not watched as a family until we have. We choose movies on NetFlix to be watched online, or we watch some that we own. Lately, we have been watching some of the Moody Science videos that the children got for Christmas. They LOVE these!

The memories being made on Tuesday nights with my family are such sweet ones!

This works for me! 

To learn more about what works for others, visit Works For Me Wednesdays!

19 Comments leave one →
  1. March 10, 2009 11:54 pm

    Welcome to WFMW! We don’t do a weekly experience as such, but we do make a point to check out movies from the local library that the whole family will watch together. We also love homemade pizza–YUM!

  2. March 11, 2009 12:06 am

    This is a really sweet idea. And the fact that your family is asking ahead of time if it’s family movie night — I’d say it’s a real success! Thanks for sharing 🙂

  3. March 11, 2009 12:31 am

    Your next post should be the recipe for that pizza crust. I just baked my first cinnamon rolls tonight from scratch. I would love to try pizza crust next. Thanks for your blog post.

    • Brandi permalink*
      March 11, 2009 10:05 am

      LaVonne,

      Cinnamon Rolls sound so good!! The recipe that I have for pizza crust can be used for lots of different things, cinnamon rolls being one of them (although, I have not tried it this way yet)! I will get it posted as soon as possible! 🙂

  4. March 11, 2009 5:51 am

    We love doing a family movie night……and you just made me crave a root beer float at 8:00AM!

    Peace
    ~*Michelle*~

    • Brandi permalink*
      March 11, 2009 10:00 am

      Michelle,

      Thanks for visiting my blog! I think I have myself craving a root beer float, as well! Yum! 😮

  5. March 11, 2009 6:42 am

    I love movie nights too! We don’t have one every week, but I look forward to trying to get one in regularly. My little guy is 3, so we are very limited on selection, but we have fun with it too.

  6. March 11, 2009 6:59 am

    Welcome to WFMW! 😀 WE love movie nights. We usually rent from the library or from Redbox and have pizza on Fridays. The kids love it!

  7. March 11, 2009 3:02 pm

    I love having family traditions!

  8. March 11, 2009 3:52 pm

    We do this on Friday nights, with homemade pizza as well. 🙂

  9. March 11, 2009 7:15 pm

    Welcome to the group. We have a Netflix membership and enjoy watching old TV shows. We actually turned our teen onto “Alf” and “Barney Miller”.
    Thanks for sharing your WFMW tip.

    • Brandi permalink*
      March 11, 2009 8:08 pm

      Rona,
      Thanks for the comment, and the welcome! I love reading all of the other Works For Me tips from the ladies! We love our NetFlix as well!

  10. March 12, 2009 3:19 am

    Thank you for commenting! 🙂

    If you feel like your lists are all running over, as per your title, you might enjoy the post at the end of this URL: http://segullah.org/small-epiphanies/my-new-list/

    If you do, let me know! I LOVED IT, myself!! ^_^

    • Brandi permalink*
      March 12, 2009 9:10 am

      Tori,

      Thank you for the link, I will check it out!

      God Bless,
      Brandi 🙂

  11. March 12, 2009 9:47 am

    We love family movie night. It’s usually on Friday or Saturday depending on our schedules and the kids get to camp out int he living room that night.

    I’m going to have to try making my own pizza crust. I’ve always said I will but I find myself at the store buying them…

    • Brandi permalink*
      March 12, 2009 10:43 am

      Tracy,

      How fun! I never thought of letting them “camp out”, they would probably really enjoy that!

  12. March 12, 2009 11:48 am

    Love that! Pass along that crust recipe. I love making homemade pizza. Hope it’s easy… ha!

    On movies, have you seen Flywheel, Facing the Giants, and Fireproof?

    I soo love this series of movies. Flywheel is more for couples as it talks about problems within marriage.

    Stop by and share some from my cup.

    Ginger

  13. March 12, 2009 1:57 pm

    Duh! I found the link… ha! Flywheel is the 1st in the series of movies made by the church who put out Facing the Giants and Fireproof. You’ll recognize the characters throughout the movies.
    Thanks,
    Ginger

  14. March 19, 2009 8:16 am

    Your blog provides a fresh look at the subject. You might want to take a look at my blog and possibly become a regular reader.

    Free Samples. Updated with a complete new list of Free Stuff every 24 hours.
    http://lm.logicalmedia.com/z/8578/CD2855

Leave a Reply

