Skip to content

1 gallon = 2 gallons

March 19, 2009

frugalfriday1

 

So just how does one take 1 gallon of milk and turn it into 2?  Well that’s easy…with more milk, of course!  Powdered that is…wait, wait…give me a chance to explain before you leave.  

I, like many of you, did not like the idea of drinking powdered milk.  I remember my mom making it when I was a child, and well….eww!  But I thought that I would try it anyway just to see if maybe my tastes had changed, and hopefully the children, and most especcially dh, wouldn’t notice.  Also, with the price of milk rising to a good $4 -$5 a gallon, depending on brand, it was worth a try.

I knew it was not a good idea to make the powdered milk straight…my taste buds had not changed that much…and I didn’t want the rest of the family going on a milk strike.  So, I mixed 1/2 gallon of powdered milk, mixed according to instructions on the box,  with 1/2 gallon of whole milk, and let it chill.  The next time milk was needed, which is quite frequently, I took it out, shook it a bit, and tasted.  What???…let me try that again….it still tasted like our beloved milk…and not even a hint of powdered milk taste.  And, the children and dh didn’t notice either!  Whoo hoo…jackpot!  I can now buy 1 gallon of milk, and get 2 gallons from it!  It truly is that easy! 

I’m not sure what it would be like if I were to use 2% or 1%, I am thinking that it would not be as good, but I can’t say, b/c I haven’t tried it.  I do know that using whole milk works very well, though!

Warning:  Pay attention to the expiration date on the dry milk…if it has expired, you will most definitely taste it!  Don’t ask me how I know…  But if this happens to you, keep it and mix it for use in your baking, just as you would sour milk.

If you still aren’t sold on this idea, or your family has more sensitive taste buds than mine, and they do notice that you have “toyed” with their precious milk, then there are other ways that you can use the powdered milk to make your milk go further…still saving you money!  You can use your gallon of milk for drinking and for use in cereal, mac ‘n cheese, mashed potatoes, etc., and use the powdered milk for baking and cooking.  For that matter, you could do this if you mix the milk too, b/c that would save even more money!  And who doesn’t like saving money???

Want more money saving tips?  Visit Life As Mom for more!

5 Comments leave one →
  1. March 20, 2009 10:35 am

    I meant to buy some today to make hot cocoa mix. I never realized it had an expiration date!
    We use 1% around here, but I think your method would work great for baking needs if not for actual drinking. I might just have to try that.

  2. March 20, 2009 3:07 pm

    You could also make chocolate milk with it.. kids probably wouldn’t notice it then either. 🙂

    • Brandi permalink*
      March 20, 2009 3:15 pm

      That is a good idea, too! I will have to give that a try! Thanks Suz!

  3. March 20, 2009 4:54 pm

    I double our milk by watering down whole milk. I buy one gallon and make it two by adding water. I also buy a gallon of locally produced milk for my young ones to drink, so they are getting plenty of good nutrients. The watered down milk goes over cereal and for baking.
    I keep powdered milk in the pantry as a back up, thanks for the tip about checking the date!

    • Brandi permalink*
      March 21, 2009 12:34 am

      You are welcome, Monica! Another lady had told me that she watered her milk down too, I need to try that, that would save even more! Thanks!

Leave a Reply

