Skip to content

Menu Monday (March 23-March 29)

March 23, 2009

mpm3

 

I am so excited about my menu this week, b/c I found some really good deals at Brookshire’s!!  Some are better than others, but all good!

We are talking 10 lbs of grapefruits for $5, (big) green seedless grapes for .99/lb, 8lb bag of oranges for $2.99, ground beef for $1.29/lb and also a buy a jar of Hellman’s real mayonnaise and get 1 (24 oz) loaf of white bread, 1 (10 oz) jar of sweet relish, and 1 (5 oz) can of tuna fish FREE deal!!  I also bought 4 lb bags of sugar for $1.37/each!

I had to get a rain check for the chicken leg quarters that are 0.39/lb, and the 15 lb bag of russet potatoes for $5.99, I will get these later this week! 

I will be cooking some mashed potatoes to freeze!  Are there any other potato dishes that I can make and freeze?? Potatoes seem to ruin quickly at my house, so I will need to cook and freeze some of them after I make my purchase, since there will be so many.  Warning: Whole, raw potatoes do not freeze well AT ALL…ask me how I know!

*We eat salads with all of our dinners.

*Snacks will be either fruit, crackers, chips and dip, or some sort of baked good.

*I will be baking sour dough rolls this week.

Monday:

B: Oatmeal/Grapes

L: Sandwiches/Chips

D: Chicken Nachoes

Tuesday:

B: Cinnamon Toast/1/2 Grapefruit

L: Chicken Tortilla Soup(freezer)/Grilled Cheese Sandwiches

D: Homemade Pizza/Magic Milkshakes (Family Movie Night)

 

Wednesday:

B: Monkey Bread/Oranges

L: Chicken Salad/Grapes

D: Hamburgers on Sour Dough Rolls/Oven Baked French Fries

 

Thursday:

B: Fruit Smoothies/Sour Dough Rolls w/butter and jelly

L: Hot Dogs/Oranges

D: Meatloaf/Mashed Potatoes/Veggies

 

Friday:

B: Egg in a Basket/Grapes

L: Tuna Patties/Oven Baked French Fries/Orange

D: Butter Beans/Brown Rice/Squash/Baked Chicken/Cornbread (Date Night)

 

Saturday:

B: Strawberry Pancakes made by DH/Hot Links

L: Corndog patties/Fruit

D: Hobo Stew/Sour Dough Rolls

 

Sunday:

B: Cowboy Coffee Cake/1/2 Grapefruit

L: Green Salads(adults)/Sandwiches (kids)/Oranges

D: Leftover Hobo Stew

 

Go visit  I’m An Organizing Junkie to see more great menus!

14 Comments leave one →
  1. March 23, 2009 6:36 am

    Thanks for the potato tips.
    Your menu sounds delicious.
    I’m just waiting on my coffee to finish brewing. You have a terrific week.
    Happy MPM.

    • Brandi permalink*
      March 23, 2009 10:58 am

      Rona,

      Thank you and You are welcome!

      Oh that reminds me, I need to go fix the coffee pot for when dh comes home!

      Happy MPM to you too!
      God Bless!

  2. March 23, 2009 10:37 am

    Ooooh, sounds like a great week!

    What’s hobo stew????

    🙂

    • Brandi permalink*
      March 23, 2009 11:19 am

      Niki,

      Hobo stew is (for me) 1 lb. ground beef (browned), 1 lb. link sausage (cut into thin rounds), 1 medium onion (sauteed with meats), and then whatever frozen, fresh, or cans of veggies I want to throw over in the pot!! It’s called Hobo b/c it can have whatever you wish to put in it..any meats that you want, any veggies that you want. If you do not use canned veggies, then add whatever kind of broth you want to it. Let it simmer for 45 minutes and then I serve it with cornbread! It’s that easy! :o)

      Enjoy!

  3. March 23, 2009 6:50 pm

    Magic Milkshakes. I haven’t made those in a long time:)
    Maybe you could make Shepherd’s Pie to freeze for later? It has a layer of mashed potatoes on top.

    • Brandi permalink*
      March 23, 2009 8:04 pm

      Nikki,

      Yum, shepherd’s pie!! That is a great idea and should freeze really well!

      Thank you!
      Brandi

      P.S. My sister’s name is Nikki, spelled the same way! It’s neat to send a reply to Nikki, from Brandi!

  4. March 23, 2009 7:17 pm

    Thanks for welcoming me to MPM. I wasn’t real sure about sushi when my oldest daughter convinced me to try it, now I really like it. There are lots of things that you can eat that aren’t raw fish. My husband usually eats tempura fried shrimp, fish & vegies. I do however “really” enjoy raw or seered tuna. But you either love it or hate it. Your menu looks great, I’ve been looking for a good coffee cake recipe. Have you ever made it in a bundt pan, cakes come out so pretty, If you did would you put the cinnamon and sugar in the pan before the batter?? Thanks again, you were my first welcomer.

    • Brandi permalink*
      March 23, 2009 8:08 pm

      Debra,

      You are very welcome! I agree, you either love it or hate..lol! I have only tried it one time and that was on a cruise and it WAS raw fish….yuck!

      I have not made it in a bundt pan, but that would be pretty, and yes I would probably put the cinnamon and sugar in the pan first and then the batter! I will have to try this soon!!

      God Bless,
      Brandi

  5. March 24, 2009 12:12 am

    i’m going down a bloggy rabbit hole and through this ultimate blog party i stumbled on a blog, that you commented on, your blog name caught my eye so here i am. i’ll be back to visit!

    • Brandi permalink*
      March 24, 2009 8:58 am

      Christen,

      I’m so happy that you visited and left a comment! Come back when you get the chance and visit again! I am going to visit your blog, as well!

      God Bless,
      Brandi

  6. March 24, 2009 6:51 pm

    Your menu sounds great! You scored some awesome deals!
    God bless,
    Amanda

    • Brandi permalink*
      March 24, 2009 11:47 pm

      Thank you Amanda! Yes, I was excited about those deals!!

      Thank you for stopping by and for leaving a comment!

      God Bless,
      Brandi

  7. March 25, 2009 1:28 pm

    Great menu! Good job on planning for all three meals everyday. I did a dinner menu for the first time, but breakfast and lunch are still fly-by-nite. Baby steps, right?

    • Brandi permalink*
      March 25, 2009 2:12 pm

      Cindy,

      Thank you for visiting!

      Yes, Baby steps is the key!! I still have many baby steps to take before I’ve “got it”! 🙂

      God Bless,
      Brandi

Leave a Reply

