Skip to content

Snow + Camera = Does Not Mix!

February 9, 2010

We had our 3rd snow fall for this year, today. It was so beautiful and wet enough that it would stick together enough to make snowballs and most importantly a snowman! Two weeks ago when it snowed it was just a beautiful powdery blanket of snow, and no matter how hard we tried, we could not get it to stick enough to make even the smallest snowballs.

Today was the day though! The snow was PERFECT for making snowballs and snowmen! After feeding the children a hot breakfast brunch of oatmeal, we all dressed in warm clothes and headed down stairs.  We had our basket in tow, which held buttons, a cowboy hat, and a piece of material to be used as a scarf.

Why I didn’t think to make the children use the bathroom before heading downstairs escapes me completely, because as soon as we got downstairs, walked over to where we were going to build our snowman, placed AA in her Bumbo seat so she could watch us easily, I hear from EK, “I need to go potty”!  I scooped her up, put JA and GC in charge of watching after their sisters and ran back upstairs as quickly as possible!  Because if I hadn’t….well you know….I really could have been the mom who was frantically yelling “Don’t eat the yellow snow!!”….and that just wouldn’t have been pretty!  She pottied quickly and we were back downstairs in record time!

Remember that basket I told you about…the one that held the buttons, hat, and scarf?  Well it also held my camera.  I had so diligently placed the cowboy hat over top of the camera, as to not let the snow fall directly on it. 

Before going downstairs, I had pictured all of us working as hard as we possibly could to build one huge snowman.  However, after getting downstairs it was suddenly clear that the boys must have had a non-verbal commitment to build as many snowmen…er…..snow-robots…er….snow-whatevers, as possible.  Only thing, they didn’t tell me this, so I started building away on what I thought would be THE snowman. 

I worked and worked and worked…with IM’s help of course.  She wanted to see our snowman “come to life” as badly as I did.  We made his bottom half, then his mid-section, followed by his cute little head.  Then we placed some buttons on for his eyes, his nose, his mouth, and down his mid-section.  I ran across the parking lot and found the most perfect set of branch arms he could have asked for!  He was looking snazzy!  We followed this up with his scarf, and ever so politely asked the boys if we could borrow the cowboy hat that they had taken out of the basket to use on one of their snow sculptures.  They were more than happy to oblige.  Then we all stood and said “WOW”, because he was the cutest, most handsomest little snowman ever! 

Then it was picture time!  I gathered all the children around our icy little friend, including AA, who had sat so happily in her Bumbo seat watching all the excitement. (She too was getting to take part in some of the action…well until I explained to EK, who laughingly would throw snowballs at her baby sister, that she should only start snowball fights with someone who could defend himself/herself.) 

I reached into the basket to find that my camera had a bit of snow on it, not a lot, and what was on it was already melting.  Apparently this is not good though, because when I turned my camera on, the screen was most certainly not working properly!  All it would show were some tiny blue vertical lines on a white screen!  And that is all it would show after turning it off and back on a few times.  Nothing I did made it any better!  When the boys, unknowingly, removed the protection of the cowboy hat from the camera, it did not take long for the camera to decide that it didn’t like having snow fall on it!  And it threw itself a fit!

So now the camera is completely submerged in a container of rice, and I am praying that the rice will work to remove moisture from inside my camera in the same way that it works to remove moisture from the inside of a cell phone!  I shall get back to you on how that turns out.  In the meantime, I have removed the batteries and the memory card from the camera, and I will try to see if any damage has happened to the memory card, or the pictures that were already on it, tomorrow…er….later today.

Until then, word from the Learned, Do NOT allow your camera to be snowed on!  Snow + Camera = Broken! 😦

2 Comments leave one →
  1. thejoythejourneythejob permalink*
    February 26, 2010 4:45 pm

    Oh, so this is where Caroline heard about the rice and camera!

    April

  2. Brandi permalink*
    February 26, 2010 5:26 pm

    Yes, unfortunately, this would be how she happened upon that new found wisdom! I wish it would have fixed my screen though! I can’t complain too much though, b/c the camera still takes pictures just like before, but I can’t use the digital screen anymore.

Leave a Reply

