Skip to content

We Won!!!!

February 23, 2010

Our landlady, Ms. Nanette, called me today to inform me that we have a check waiting for us to pick up in her office!!!  Remember our cute little snowman?  He won 1st place!! 

When we entered the contest we only knew that 1st, 2nd and 3rd place winners would be receiving a prize.  However, we did not know what the prizes were.  After she told me that there was a check waiting for us, because we won 1st place in the contest, I just couldn’t bring myself to ask how much the check was.  I was excited, but didn’t want to sound ungrateful, so I decided that I would wait until I picked the check up to look. 

We, however, are out-of-state this week, so I let her know that it would be next week before I could pick the check up, and she said that would not be a problem.  Just as we were saying our goodbyes, she said “Just come by and pick up the check when you are able to.  It is for $100.”

I cannot even begin to tell you how pleasantly surprised I was when I heard her say the amount!  I had somewhat expected the prizes to be monetary, but never did I expect the amount to be so great!  And the children were so VERY excited, when I told them!  Their smiles and excitement were priceless!

I called DH, who was out running errands, and he was almost home already.  I told him that the children had some exciting news and they wanted to be the ones to tell him.  This kept him guessing! 😉  His first guess was that we were going to have another baby…hehe!  The hard “labor” that was put into building our little snowman should qualify me as his mother.

I had the children rehearse how they were going to deliver the exciting news to their daddy, so that everyone felt like they were the one to tell him.  IM said “Remember the snowman we built”. Then, EK excitedly said “We Won”, while pumping one arm up into the air as one would when shouting “hurray”.  Next, GC said “1st place”, and, finally, JA said “$100 check”.  And then everyone said “Yay” and clapped their hands, which then caused AA to light up with a huge smile and clap her hands too. 

DH was very proud of them, and gave them all high fives…er…as our children lovingly call them, “hand fives”.  This was most definitely the highlight of our day!

BTW, snow is predicted in the forecast tonight too, making this the 5th time for us to see snow this year!  Who would have ever believed that AR and LA would receive this much snow in one winter season?  Not I.  Guess this goes to show that God most certainly has a sense of humor, and opinion,  when it comes to “Global Warming”! 😉

6 Comments leave one →
  1. Tammy Williams permalink
    February 23, 2010 8:27 pm

    HEY!!!!! I had no idea you had a blog!!! I LOVE it!!! Really enjoyed reading it! Tell the cuties congrats on their win!! The snowman was adorable!

    • Brandi permalink*
      February 23, 2010 8:44 pm

      Yes, I didn’t post for several months, and am finally posting again. It was one of my New Year’s goals to post more often this year. I will most definitely tell them that you said Congrats!!
      Thank you so much for reading and commenting! You will have to come by more often now that you know it is here! 😉
      How are you, Jeff, and the children? How is work going? Are the kiddos enjoying the extra time they have with Jeff? We haven’t moved yet, so maybe we can plan a Saturday at MD’s before we do?

      Take Care,
      Brandi

  2. February 26, 2010 1:07 pm

    I’m tearing up as I’m picturing your kids giving the good news to your husband. That is sooo exciting. Are you letting them choose what you are going to do with it?

    • Brandi permalink*
      February 26, 2010 4:09 pm

      Amy,

      Thank you for visiting my blog!

      It was a site to see, and yes, VERY exciting!!!

      Yes, I am going to let them take part in the decision of what we purchase. I am going to make a list of things that would be both exciting and beneficial to our family, and then allow them to help decide what the actual purchase will be!

      We are out of state right now, we will head home in a day or so, so that gives me a little bit of time to think and pray about what will be on the list of potential purchases. I will blog about our final decision, so check back to find out! 😉

      Blessings,
      Brandi

  3. thejoythejourneythejob permalink*
    February 26, 2010 4:49 pm

    Awesome!!!!!!

    Love, Love, Love the new header!

    April

    • Brandi permalink*
      February 26, 2010 5:29 pm

      Thank You!! I like it so much better, too!! 🙂

Leave a Reply

